"Transforming Lives Through Quality Learning Experiences"

Top Community Colleges Recognition
Published: February 09 2016

Arkansas State University–Beebe has been selected for the third time since 2011 to be included in the top community colleges in the nation by the prestigious Aspen Institute.


ASU-Beebe Chancellor Dr. Karla Fisher stated “For several years, the Aspen Institute has recognized ASU-Beebe as a quality institution, serving the needs of students and our communities. We are honored and humbled to be recognized yet again as one of the top 10 percent of two-year institutions in the U.S.”


ASU-Beebe is now eligible to compete among 150 community colleges in the nation for the 2017 Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence and $1 million in prize funds. There are approximately 1,123 community colleges in the nation from which the 150 eligible colleges were chosen. The selected colleges are located in 35 states in urban, rural and suburban areas, serving as few as 300 students and as many as 60,000 students. ASU-Beebe is one of four colleges in Arkansas to be named. 


Ten finalists will be announced this fall. The $1 million Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence, awarded every two years, is the nation’s signature recognition of high achievement and performance among America’s community colleges and recognizes institutions for exceptional student outcomes in four areas: student learning, certificate and degree completion, employment and earnings, and high levels of access and success for minority and low-income students.

“There are exceptional community colleges across our country providing students with a high-quality, affordable education that leads to good careers and strong economic opportunity,” Josh Wyner, executive director of the program, said in a press release announcing the eligible colleges. “Through this competition, we’re working to inspire community colleges and help them understand how to ensure that more students succeed.”   


The Aspen Institute is an educational and policy studies organization based in Washington, DC. Its mission is to foster leadership based on enduring values and to provide a nonpartisan venue for dealing with critical issues. The Institute is based in Washington, DC; Aspen, Colorado; and on the Wye River on Maryland’s Eastern Shore. It also has offices in New York City and an international network of partners. For more information on the Aspen Institute visit www.aspeninstitute.org.


For more information on ASU-Beebe and programs offered, call (501) 882-3600 or visit the website at www.asub.edu.


Arkansas State University-Beebe is an operationally separate, two-year institution of the Arkansas State University System.  With campuses located in Beebe, Heber Springs, Searcy, and Little Rock Air Force Base, the university offers associate degrees, certificates, and non-credit training for business and industry.  The Beebe campus also collaborates with Arkansas State, a four-year university in Jonesboro, to offer baccalaureate and graduate degrees on the Beebe campus.