Apply Now

Arkansas Trucking Association accepting applications for Technician Scholarship
Posted Date: 2/9/24

Contact: Bethany May, Communications Director

Office: 501.372.3462

LITTLE ROCK, ARK. – For the seventh year, the Arkansas Trucking Association plans to award scholarships of up to $7,500 to students interested in pursuing careers as medium- and heavy-duty truck technicians. Scholarship applications are being accepted now through April 5, 2024, and are available at

Arkansas State University-Beebe has included the Carl Tapp Memorial Scholarship application on the Non-ACT Scholarships webpage at: as a possible scholarship source for students enrolled in the diesel technology at the Searcy campus.   

“The Carl Tapp Memorial Scholarship has already awarded $90,000 to students across Arkansas pursuing education and training for a career in trucking.  We are proud to launch a new search for the next recipients,” said ATA President Shannon Newton. “Investing in a well-trained workforce is one that enhances the future of safe vehicles on our roadways, one that improves the training and preparedness to support future families of Arkansas, and one that moves the economy of our state and nation forward.”

ATA established the Carl Tapp Memorial Scholarship Fund in 2017 to encourage growth in the state’s technician workforce and to help assure that the safest, most knowledgeable and skilled technicians are working on the trucks and trailers on our nation’s roads.

Applicants must be graduating seniors from accredited high schools. Scholarships of up to $7,500 will be awarded for students attending a minimum two-semester medium- and heavy-duty truck technician program at an Arkansas institution.

In 2017, ATA’s Technician Curriculum Advisory Committee, which partners with educational institutions around the state to help shape skilled labor programs, founded the Carl Tapp Memorial Scholarship Fund to encourage young Arkansans to pursue career paths as technicians in the trucking industry. The scholarship is named for the late Carl Tapp, the Council’s first chairman, who was known for recognizing and empowering talent in the next generation of technicians.

Applications will be accepted through April 5, 2024, for students beginning coursework in August 2024 or January 2025, based on individual program requirements. ATA plans to name 2024 recipients in May. Contact Sarah Newman ( for more information about the Scholarship Fund and find the application at

About the Arkansas Trucking Association: Since 1932, the Arkansas Trucking Association has served as the voice of the trucking industry, promoting the vitality of this industry on which nearly 87% of Arkansas communities exclusively rely to move their goods. Made up of approximately 300 trucking and service companies, ATA helps members grow their business and profits while protecting the collective interests of trucking companies in the political and regulatory arenas.

The diesel technology program on the ASU-Beebe Searcy campus trains students to repair and maintain farm equipment, industrial equipment, heavy-duty trucks and other heavy equipment. The program is also eligible for the Arkansas Future grant.

See Diesel Technology and Non-ACT Scholarships

Share on Social Media
Go Top