"Transforming Lives Through Quality Learning Experiences"

Theater Department Award
Published: November 16 2015

The Arkansas State University-Beebe Theater Department recently attended the Arkansas Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival (KCACTF) held at the University of Arkansas at Fort Smith.


The Theater Department festival entry was the production of ‘2’ by Romulus Linney, which was set in 1945 at the Nuremberg War Crimes Trials.  ASU-Beebe was represented by twelve cast and crew members who attended workshops and forums, as well as shows produced by other colleges and universities in the region.


Several ASU-Beebe students received awards for their work. Mackenzie Cullen Dunn, a fine arts major from Jacksonville; Weston Wilson, a liberal arts major from Searcy; and Joseph Blackwell, a criminal justice major from Vilonia; each received the Irene Ryan Scholarship nomination for acting. Elizabeth Pillow, a fine arts major from North Little Rock; Emmanuel Motto, a business major from Beebe; and Mackenzie Cullen Dunn; each received awards for Excellence in Honor Crew.  Brad Roberds received a Meritorious Award for Excellence in Acting for his portrayal of Herman Goering and theater instructor Sandra Williams received an Award for Excellence in Scenic Design.


ASU-Beebe is the only two-year college in the state of Arkansas that offers an Associate of Fine Arts (AFA) degree. The AFA degree has an emphasis in vocal music or instrumental music, theater, graphic design, or creative arts enterprise. This degree is a comprehensive two-year curriculum designed specifically for transfer toward a bachelor’s degree in fine arts.