"Transforming Lives Through Quality Learning Experiences"

MLT Students Win at State Competition
Published: April 25 2016

Several students in the Medical Laboratory Technology (MLT) program at Arkansas

State University-Beebe, were named state champions in the Annual Medical

Laboratory Technology/Medical Laboratory Sciences Quiz Bowl held at Baptist

Health Schools in Little Rock on April 14-15.






from the winning MLT team included M. Renee Forte of Romance, Hannah Brown of

Maumelle, Mariah Garcia of Cabot, and Louis Kohler of Cabot. The ASU-Beebe MLT

program students first competed against two-year MLT teams, and then competed against

the four-year MLS teams to win the overall state championship.   




Quiz bowl


questions reflected knowledge of urinalysis and body fluids (clinical microscopy),

hematology and hemostasis, clinical chemistry/biochemistry, immunology and

serology, immunohematology (blood banking), pathogenic microbiology, including bacteriology,

virology, parasitology, and mycology.






sponsoring the MLT/MLS Quiz Bowl were Clinical Laboratory Management

Association (CLMA), Arkansas Society for the Clinical Laboratory Sciences

(ArSCLS), and the Arkansas Medical Laboratory Educator’s Forum (AMLEF). 






ASU-Beebe MLT program is accredited by the National Accrediting Agency for the

Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS). The MLT program is under the direction

of Jimmy L. Boyd, assistant professor, who also received recognition for his

dedication and service as a NAACLS Volunteer. 





more information on programs offered at ASU-Beebe, call (501) 882-3600 or visit

the website at www.asub.edu.




Arkansas State University-Beebe is an operationally separate,


two-year institution of the Arkansas State University System.  With campuses located in Beebe, Heber

Springs, Searcy, and Little Rock Air Force Base, the university offers

associate degrees, certificates, and non-credit training for business and

industry.  The Beebe campus also

collaborates with Arkansas State, a four-year university in Jonesboro, to offer

baccalaureate and graduate degrees on the Beebe campus.