"Transforming Lives Through Quality Learning Experiences"

EMT/Paramedic Instructor Award
Published: September 03 2013

Nathan Waggoner, adjunct instructor at Arkansas State University-Searcy, a technical campus of ASU-Beebe, received the Arkansas Emergency Medical Technicians Association (AEMTA) Instructor of the Year award at the AEMTA awards ceremony held in Hot Springs earlier this month.—August 2013


Waggoner began teaching emergency medical services classes at ASU-Searcy in 2006, and has been noted for his excellent teaching style and knowledge of the EMS field. He was also instrumental in serving as the temporary director for the EMT-Paramedic program, after the loss of his mentor, former EMT-Paramedic director Janie Kennedy, who died of cancer in 2011.


Waggoner served as interim director during 2012, and assisted Dr. Keith McClanahan, director of the Advanced Technology and Allied Health Division, through the paramedic program accreditation process. The paramedic program was granted continued full accreditation status, without prejudice, for an additional five-year term.


Additionally, Waggoner helped recruit and assist with the transition of the current EMT-Paramedic program director Patt Cope. He has since been able to return to the classroom as an instructor for the program. “Waggoner’s emergency medical knowledge as an instructor and insight as an administrator have made him invaluable to both the program and ASU-Beebe,” said Cope.   


For more information about the ASU-Beebe Allied Health programs, call (501) 882-8822 or view the website at www.asub.edu.