"Transforming Lives Through Quality Learning Experiences"

ACC Award Recipients
Published: October 14 2016

Arkansas State University-Beebe students, faculty, staff, and alumni were recently honored at the Arkansas Community Colleges (ACC) fall conference held at the Hot Springs Convention Center.


Sophomore Sarah Vaughn, of Cabot, received the Academic All-Star Award. A liberal arts major, Vaughn has a 3.65 GPA and is in the Honors Program. A member of the Baptist Collegiate Ministry, Gamma Beta Phi, Ecology Club, and the Student Government Association, she also served as a marketing intern for ASU-Beebe. Vaughn started and is the editor-in-chief of The Odyssey, a social content platform that shares millennial voices through social media. After graduating from ASU-Beebe, Vaughn plans to attend the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville. She plans to double major in English and journalism.  


Sarah Buford, instructor of mathematics, was named recipient of the Outstanding Faculty Award. Buford is an integral member of the mathematics faculty and has been instrumental in the redesign of several of the math courses as part of the Complete College America, PACE, and Arkansas Mathways initiatives. Last year, as part of the institution’s new strategic plan, an emphasis was placed on improving the student experience through a variety of means including optimizing employee engagement with students by asking them to attend at least five student-centered events annually. Buford marshaled the Mathematics Department, and together they attended nearly seventy events last year.


Sharon Been, Controller, was presented the Outstanding Staff Award. Been began her career in 1982 in the physical plant as a departmental administrator. She later moved over to the fiscal department serving as a cashier, accounts payable clerk, accountant I, accountant II, as well as a database analyst, before being promoted into her current position as Controller for the university. Over the course of the last 34 years, Been’s commitment to the pursuit of perfection in all that she does has benefited many faculty, staff, and countless students. Additionally, her devotion to helping others succeed has benefited all who have worked with and around Been over the years.


Barry Farris was named recipient of the Outstanding Alumni Award. Farris earned his associate degree from ASU-Beebe and while he was a student, received the university’s highest award, the Citizenship Award. He earned his bachelor’s, master’s, and specialist’s degrees from Arkansas State University, and received the Honorary American FFA Degree for his contributions to agricultural education. Farris returned to ASU-Beebe to begin teaching agriculture in 1984 and also served several years as business and agriculture division chair. He served several years as vice chancellor for Advanced Studies and External Programs, and then vice chancellor for the Searcy campus before retiring this year with 32 years of service to the university. 


For more information about ASU-Beebe, call (501) 882-3600, or visit the website at www.asub.edu.

Arkansas State University-Beebe is an operationally separate, two-year institution of the Arkansas State University System.  With campuses located in Beebe, Heber Springs, Searcy, the Little Rock Air Force Base, and online, the university offers associate degrees, certificates, and non-credit training for business and industry.  The Beebe campus also collaborates with Arkansas State, a four-year university in Jonesboro, to offer baccalaureate and graduate degrees on the Beebe campus. ASU-Beebe is nationally recognized by the Aspen Institute for student success rates.