"Transforming Lives Through Quality Learning Experiences"


GED Testing

The ASU-Beebe Adult Education Centers offer Official GED® Testing on the Searcy campus. The Official GED® Test consists of four subject areas: Reasoning through Language Arts, Science, Social Studies, and Mathematical Reasoning. A test taker must earn a 145 or higher on each subject to earn a GED ®.  These score requirements ensure that GED® test takers are able to read, compute, interpret information, and express themselves in writing.

A student must be at least 16 years of age in order to be eligible to take the test. Students ages 16 and 17 must provide the required paperwork from their local school district before they may schedule to test.

Preliminary testing is required before a student may take the Official GED® exam. Students must provide a current Arkansas I.D. or Driver's License and Social Security card when they take the GED® testing.  The GED® Ready test and the GED® test must be taken at an approved Arkansas adult education center.  GED® study guides are available at most local libraries and bookstores.

If you took the GED® test in Arkansas before January 1, 2014, and wish to have an official copy of your scores mailed to a college/institution, employer, agency, or yourself, you must submit a written/signed request to the GED® Testing Office. The transcript request form can be accessed here.

2014 GED® Test Changes

The GED® 21st Century Initiative will transform the GED® test into a comprehensive program that will prepare more adult learners for postsecondary education, training and careers.  The new assessment system will now give adults the opportunity to demonstrate career and college readiness through a new endorsement.  The new test is:

  • Aligned with Common Core State Standards
  • Delivered through Computer Based Testing requiring basic computer skills
  • Designed to demonstrate career and college readiness

If an individual did not complete their GED® exam before January 2014, they will be required to adhere to the new standards and any partially completed testing will be void.